Smoke-free Universities Network (SFUN)

The Smoke-free Universities Network (SFUN) was launched in Mandalay, Myanmar in 2016.  The People’s Health Foundation (PHF) and SEATCA organized the Smoke-free Universities Workshop that initially includes medical universities only but was expanded to include non-medical universities.  These Smoke-free universities formed a network known as the Smoke-free Universities Network and plans to include other Smoke-free universities in the ASEAN.

Several universities joined the selection for the Best Smoke-free University in Myanmar.  Dr Myint Htwe, the Minister of Health and Sports, presented the awards to the recipients during the 2018 World No Tobacco Day celebration in Nay Pyi Taw.  In recognition of their successful Smoke-free campaign, the top 3 universities were recognized which includes the University of Medicine (Magway), the University of Dentistry (Yangon) and the University of Traditional Medicine (Mandalay).